Introduction to Weather for Recreational Boaters

Winds, waves, fog, lightning, hail, tornadoes .... hurricanes! The wise boater respects and anticipates mother nature’s many moods. Beyond “red sky in the morning”, this course provides boaters with the tools to find and accurately interpret weather reports and forecasts, and to develop keen judgments in “reading” the sky and sea for optimum boating safety in and around Canadian waters. Newly developed for adult learners, this course will measure learning success not by closed-book, memory-work exams, but by practical, open-book applications of learned concepts to actual boating situations.

Topics:

1. The Atmosphere, Temperature, Heat
2. Wind, Pressure, Waves
3. Water, Humidity, Fog, Precipitation
4. Stability, Clouds
5. Thunderstorms and Tornadoes
6. Mid-Latitude Weather and Storms
7. Overview of Special Topics: e.g. hurricanes

Introduction to Weather
421 Grove St East
Room 112
Barrie, ON L4M 5S1

Course Date

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, January 9, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

Notes

 

There is a reduced fee for two or more family members taking the course by contacting us at [email protected] .

 

For infromation contact Hans Etzel:  [email protected]