Boating 2 and 3 Combined

Boating 2 – Beyond Boating Basics

More than your Boating Licence

The PCOC makes sure you have immediate navigation and safety skills but it’s just the beginning of what you should know when you get on a boat. In the second of our Boating Series, you are introduced to the art of navigation, anchoring, ropes, lines and knots – not to mention what to expect when the boat is moving under power. This course also has a number of optional topics that will be taught depending on your interests; these include towing, trailering and a check list for layup and launch.

Suggested Prerequisite: Boating 1: Pleasure Craft Operator Card (PCOC)

5-6 weeks one evening per week

See course table of contents.

Boating 3 – Introduction to Marine Navigation

The third course in our series explores navigation further as you learn how to plot and label on paper charts as well as what the skipper should be doing before setting out and when under way, handling a boat under sail as well as your environmental responsibilities and electrical hazards,. This course also has a number of optional topics that will be taught depending on your interests; these include tides and currents, canals and locks, and collision regulations.

Suggested Prerequisite: Boating 2 – Beyond Boating Basics

5-6 weeks one evening per week

See course table of contents.

1001 The Rapids Parkway
Sarnia, ON N7S 6K2

Course Date

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, January 10, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, January 17, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, January 24, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

Notes

The fee for the study guide, course and exam is $250 per person payable in cash (exact funds please) or by check made payable to "Sarnia Power and Sail Squadron" on registration night Wednesday, December 12, 2018 from 7 p.m to 8 p.m. at St. Patrick's High School, 1001 the Rapids Parkway, Sarnia in room 144 .

Please bring a pen, pencil and especially a highlighter should you decide to take the course.

The location is room #144 at St. Patricks Catholic High School, 1001 The Rapids Parkway, Sarnia.

Fir infromation contact David Sidenberg:  [email protected]