Boating 2 and 3 Combined

Boating 2 – Beyond Boating Basics

More than your Boating Licence

The PCOC makes sure you have immediate navigation and safety skills but it’s just the beginning of what you should know when you get on a boat. In the second of our Boating Series, you are introduced to the art of navigation, anchoring, ropes, lines and knots – not to mention what to expect when the boat is moving under power. This course also has a number of optional topics that will be taught depending on your interests; these include towing, trailering and a check list for layup and launch.

Suggested Prerequisite: Boating 1: Pleasure Craft Operator Card (PCOC)

5-6 weeks one evening per week

See course table of contents.

Boating 3 – Introduction to Marine Navigation

The third course in our series explores navigation further as you learn how to plot and label on paper charts as well as what the skipper should be doing before setting out and when under way, handling a boat under sail as well as your environmental responsibilities and electrical hazards,. This course also has a number of optional topics that will be taught depending on your interests; these include tides and currents, canals and locks, and collision regulations.

Suggested Prerequisite: Boating 2 – Beyond Boating Basics

5-6 weeks one evening per week

See course table of contents.

2600 Powderpoint Road
Nanoose Bay, BC V9P 9E8

Course Date

Thursday, September 21, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, September 28, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, October 5, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, October 12, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, October 19, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, October 26, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, November 2, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, November 9, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, November 16, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, November 23, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm